Crime & the City Solution - Paradise Discotheque - Crime & the City Solution

Crime & the City Solution - Paradise Discotheque

Mute is excited to announce the reissue of Crime & the City Solution’s fourth studio album Paradise Discotheque on limited edition orange vinyl and CD. Restored from the original masters and re- cut in 2022, the vinyl will be limited to 1,000 copies worldwide.

A band out of time, Crime & the City Solution were perennial outsiders who could not rest in their native Australia, and instead found inspiration in the colder climes of London and Berlin. Their mesmeric, expressive music evolved through many incarnations and a great deal of adversity. The first incarnation of the band appeared in 1977/78, in the midst of Australia’s nascent punk scene and re- grouped in London in 1984. After the departure of the Rowland brothers and Epic Soundtracks, the line-up settled upon the making of Shine with singer Simon Bonney, Einstürzende Neubauten’s guitarist Alexander Hacke, DAF’s synth player Chrislo Haas, jazz bassist Thomas Stern, violinist Bronwyn Adams and Bad Seed’s Mick Harvey on drums.

Crime’s freedom of expression and adventurousness reached an apex on 1990’s Paradise Discotheque and its epic Last Dictator saga, which spanned four songs laid out like chapters at the album’s conclusion. The album and the variety of styles used on it, from the metallic sounds of “I Have The Gun” to the magic realism of “The Last Dictator” quartet, were influenced by Bonney and Adams’ move to Vienna.

  1. I Have The Gun
  2. The Sly Persuaders
  3. The Dolphins And The Sharks
  4. The Sun Before The Darkness
  5. Motherless Child
  6. The Last Dictator 1
  7. The Last Dictator 2
  8. The Last Dictator 3
  9. The Last Dictator 4
From $14.98 Select from options below to add to basket
    1 Choose options: