Telex - This Is Telex - Telex

Telex - This Is Telex

  1. The Beat Goes On/Off (Remastered)
  2. Moskow Diskow (Remastered)
  3. Twist à Saint-Tropez (Remastered)
  4. Euro-vision (Remastered)
  5. Dance To The Music (Remastered)
  6. Drama Drama (Remastered)
  7. Exercise Is Good For You (Remastered)
  8. L’amour toujours (Remastered)
  9. Radio-Radio (Remastered)
  10. Rendez-vous dans l’espace (Remastered)
  11. Beautiful Li(f)e (Remastered)
  12. The Number One Song In Heaven (Remastered)
  13. La Bamba (Remastered)
  14. Dear Prudence (Remastered)

Mute are excited to announce the release of Telex’s album This Is Telex on limited edition double color vinyl (Disc 1 on shrimp pink vinyl, Disc 2 on fern green vinyl), CD, and all digital platforms.

Telex were formed in 1978 in Brussels, just one of a handful of synthpop pioneers at a time when electronic pop was regarded as novelty, with suspicion, as a harbinger for future dystopia and alienation. Telex were concerned about the consequences of new technology for human communication, a theme explored on tracks like ‘Something To Say’, while their name is taken, ironically, from a now obsolete piece of communications technology, adding a retrofuturist air to their legend. However, it was on their cover versions that they deliberately played up the disparity between the ice-cool electronic approach and the sweaty, fleshy, frenetic passion of pop.

This Is Telex is a brand new compilation collecting 14 tracks from the innovative Belgium trio, covering their career from formation in 1978 up to the final album in 2006. It includes the hit single ‘Moskow Diskow’ as well as their Eurovision Song Contest entry, aptly called ‘Euro-Vision’. There are also two wonderful and previously unreleased tracks unearthed from the Telex archive, a cover of The Beatles’ “Dear Prudence” and a reinterpretation of a Sonny & Cher track called ‘The Beat Goes On/Off’. All the tracks were newly mixed and remastered from the original tapes by band members Dan Lacksman and Michel Moers, keeping all the tracks in the spirit of the originals but adding a freshness to them. This compilation sets the way for a comprehensive reissue campaign of the entire Telex catalogue.

From $8.98
From $7.64
Select from options below to add to basket
    1 Choose options: